AST Announces Board of Directors Election Results

Tuesday, June 7, 2022

The American Society of Transplantation (AST) announced its newly elected 2022-2023 Board Members, including its new President, President-Elect, Treasurer, and Councilors-at-Large. The results were announced during the 2022 AST Town Hall, on June 6, 2022.

Dr. Deepali Kumar assumed the role of AST President after serving as the Society’s President-Elect. Dr. Kumar is a transplant infectious diseases physician in the Multi-Organ Transplant Program at University Health Network in Toronto.

Dr. John Gill, a Professor of Medicine with tenure at British Columbia in Vancouver, Canada, previously held the position of AST president. Dr. Gill has transitioned into his role of AST Past President.

Dr. Josh Levitsky was elected as AST President-Elect and will serve in this capacity until June 2023, when he will become President. Dr. Levitsky is a Professor of Medicine, Surgery, and Medical Education in the Division of Gastroenterology & Hepatology at the Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine.

Dr. David Foley was elected as AST Treasurer. Dr. Foley is the Folkert O. Belzer Chair in Surgery and Professor and Chair of the Division of Transplantation at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health.

Three new Councilors-at-Large were also announced. Joining the Board are Raymund Razonable, MD, Deirdre Sawinski, MD, FAST, and Anne Dipchand, MD, FRCPC.

AST Past President, Dr. Richard Formica, of Yale, completed his term. Three Councilors-at-Large also rolled off the Board of Directors: Roy Bloom, MD, James Rodrigue, PhD, and Elizabeth Verna, MD, MS.