2023 Speakers


Andrew Adams MD, Ph.D. is Professor of Surgery and Chief of the Division of Transplantation at the University of Minnesota where he holds the John S Najarian Chair in Clinical Transplantation. He is also the Executive Medical Director of the Solid Organ Transplant Service Line at M Health Fairview. He received a combined MD/PhD with an emphasis in Transplantation Immunology from Emory and subsequently completed his General Surgery Residency at Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School. He returned to Emory and completed a fellowship in Transplant Surgery where he remained as a faculty member until joining the University of Minnesota in September of 2020. His research efforts are concentrated on the development of novel strategies and therapeutics to promote transplantation tolerance. He has made important contributions to our understanding concerning the interplay between viral infection, immune memory and the allo-immune response. He is also an internationally recognized expert in large animal models of xenotransplantation (pig-to-non-human primate organ transplant). His clinical practice is focused on abdominal organ transplantation with a focus on liver & kidney transplantation in both adult and pediatric patients. One of his primary clinical research interests is resource utilization following kidney transplantation including defining the factors that drive increased burden of hospitalization and inferior outcomes. He has mentored numerous pre-doctoral students, post-doctoral fellows and PhD and MD-PhD candidates. He and his trainees have received numerous awards from professional societies.


Jamil R. Azzi MD, Ph.D. is an Associate Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School. He is the medical director of the vascularized composite allotransplantation (VCA) and the associate director of the kidney and pancreas transplant at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School. Dr. Azzi is an immunologist who is leading a NIH funded laboratory that focuses on understanding the immune-regulatory arm of the immune system in transplantation, autoimmunity, and cancer with the goal of developing more targeted and safer therapeutic strategies. Work from his laboratory led to multiple technologies, licensed to different biotechnology companies. Dr. Azzi’s laboratory is also exploring multiple genomics and proteomics approaches to develop diagnostic, prognostic, and predictive biomarkers in kidney transplant recipients and inflammatory kidney diseases. This work resulted in a new urine test ExoTRU to detect rejection, licensed to Thermo Fisher.



Lyndsey Bowman, PharmD, BCPS, BCTXP, FCCP, FAST is an abdominal transplant pharmacotherapy specialist, Co-Residency Program Director of the PGY2 Solid Organ Transplant (SOT) Residency Program, and clinical coordinator for the SOT pharmacists at Tampa General Hospital (TGH). Dr. Bowman has been practicing in the field of SOT for 16 years. She is a board-certified pharmacotherapy specialist and board-certified transplant pharmacist, as well as a fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) and the American Society of Transplantation (AST). Lyndsey is an active member of AST and recently chaired AST’s Community Education Committee. She is a former Member-at-Large of the AST Transplant Pharmacy Community of Practice and recently served on the planning committee for AST’s Cutting Edge of Transplantation Conference for 2 consecutive years. Dr. Bowman contributes to medical literature through active publication in peer-reviewed journals and engages in outcomes research within the transplant institute at TGH.



Matthew Cooper, MD is currently a member of the AST Board. He is the UNOS/OPTN Past President and a past councilor for the American Society of Transplant Surgeons. He is a current board member of the National Kidney Foundation, the National Kidney Registry, the American Foundation for Donation and Transplantation, the International Pancreas and Islet Cell Transplant Association, and Donate Life America. Dr. Cooper served as Chair of the ATC