Lifetime Achievement Award

June 30, 2021, marked the passing of one of our leaders who made extraordinary contributions to the field of transplantation, Dr. Barbara T. Murphy. In recognition of her contributions to the field of transplantation and service to the Society, the AST is proud to announce that Dr. Murphy is the 2022 recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is the Society's highest honor reserved to those who have made extraordinary contributions to the field of transplantation and is selected by a committee of the Society's past presidents.

Dr. Murphy was awarded the Young Investigator Award in Basic Science by the AST in 2003 and served as President of the Society just six years later, in 2008-2009. As President, she was instrumental in the AST's public policy and advocacy efforts - pushing for the passage of the Comprehensive Immunosuppressive Drug Coverage for Kidney Transplant Patients Act and paving the way for regular DC fly-ins to advocate for transplant issues. Furthermore, Barbara worked diligently to advance the AST's research funding, public awareness, and education efforts. She was an influential leader in our field and played a significant role in several academic areas. To read more about her professional accomplishments, click here. The AST posthumously awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award to Dr. Barbara Murphy on June 5, 2022, at ATC 2022 in Boston.