Recovery and Preservation


2024-2025 Executive Committee

Chair: Jorge Mallea, MD

Co-Chair: Paulo Martins, MD, PhD

Past Chair: Heidi Yeh, MD

Board Liaison: Matthew Cooper, MD, FAST

Danielle Haakinson, MD

Charles Strom, MD

Alban Longchamp, MD, PhD

Early Career: Rohil Jain, PhD

Staff Liaison: Olivia Snow (


2023-2024 Activities 

  • Develop professional material on machine profusion. 

  • Collaborate with other COPs on Organ Recovery Educational Offerings.

  • Increase new member engagement in COP by inviting new members to EC meetings each month. 

  • Invite COP members to post comments on UNOS policies through the HUB. 

  • Establish three workgroups to focus on Education, Communication, and Public Policy. 

  • Continue the Online Bibliography Project. 

  • Offer two travel grants to ATC for trainees and junior faculty. 

  • Host Open Meeting for ATC Program Proposal creation and collaboration. 


Advisory Board

David Klassen, MD, Chief Medical Officer
United Network of Organ Sharing

Alvin Roth, PhD, Professor of Economics
Stanford University

James Markmann, MD, Chief of Transplantation
Massachusetts General Hospital

Robert Langer, PhD, Professor of Bioengineering
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Lori West MD, Director
Canadian National Transplant Research Program

David Sachs, MD, Professor of Immunology
Harvard Medical School

David Hartell, MA, Executive Director
Canadian National Transplant Research Program

Gerald Brandacher, MD, Scientific Director,
Composite Tissue Allotransplantation Program
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine

Utkan Demirci, PhD, Professor of Radiology
Stanford University School of Medicine

Jason Acker, PhD, Past President
Society for Cryobiology

Jayan Nagendran, MD, PhD
Director of Research, Division of Cardiac Surgery
University of Alberta

John Bischof, PhD
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
University of Minnesota

Matthew Wadsworth, MBA
Vice President of Clinical Affairs
Nevada Donor Network

Gina Dunne Smith
Executive Director, International Institute for the
Advancement of Medicine

Kevin Myer, MSHA
President and CEO
LifeGift Organ Donation Center

David Nelson, MD
Chief of Heart Transplant Medicine
INTEGRIS Baptist Medical Center of Oklahoma