2019 AST Board Election Candidates Announced

Thursday, March 7, 2019

We are pleased to announce that the AST Governance Committee has finalized the ballot for the 2019 AST Board Elections. On behalf of the Society, we would like to sincerely thank each of you who submitted a nomination or expressed interest in joining the AST Board of Directors.

The AST received nearly 30 nominations for this election. The large number of exceptional candidates made the selection process especially challenging this year. The Governance Committee ultimately recommended expanding the pool of nominees put forward for each of the three open Councilor-at-Large positions from two to three nominees. This change allowed the Committee to select a diverse group of candidates from various specialties. With six strong candidates for the Secretary position, the Governance Committee recommended that two individuals be put on the ballot for consideration. The Board of Directors approved the Governance Committee’s recommendations during its February 19-20, 2019 meeting in Phoenix. 

AST Board members are responsible for the overall leadership of the AST through establishing strategic direction, setting policy, making organizational priorities, initiating programs, and financial oversight.

Congratulations to the all of the candidates on the 2019 Board ballot!

  • President-Elect: Dr. Richard Formica
  • Secretary: Dr. Deepali Kumar and Dr. Alexander Wiseman
  • Councilor-at-Large: Dr. Roy Bloom, Dr. Harini Chakkera, Dr. Howard Eisen, Dr. Melissa Greenwald, Dr. Simon Horslen, Dr. Didier Mandelbrot, Dr. Sean Pinney, Dr. James Rodrigue, and Dr. Betsy Verna

We will be posting additional information about each nominee for your consideration on the AST website. Members will have the opportunity to cast their votes when voting opens in April 2019. Voting will close prior to the AST Town Hall on June 3, 2019. Members can expect further instructions in April. 

For more information on how governance process works, click here.